London’s regions

London buzzes night and day with an unforgettable energy, and each area of the city has its own district atmosphere. Here is a quick introduction to the points.

Central London
London’s heart is made up of many districts, from the iconic City of Westminster to the City of London, the main financial area of the capital. This central zone has a dense concentration of landmarks, theaters, museums, nightspots and famous shopping areas like Covent Garden, Carnaby Street and Oxford Street.

North London Over 120 languages are spoken in this region, which is steeped in history and renowned for its culture.  Areas of interest include Hampstead Heath and Primrose Hill with their huge green spaces and characterful Camden with its electric market and live music scene.

South London
The South is appreciated for its array of open spaces such as Clapham Common, the World Heritage Site at Greenwich and riverside Richmond. It’s popular for sporting attractions such as the Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum and cricket at the Brit Oval. It offers wonderful opportunities to escape from the hustle and bustle, from the village atmosphere of Barnes to historic stately homes and palaces such as Ham House and Hampton Court.

East London
The East now claims its place in the limelight and is set to play a huge part in the London 2012 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games. The area is home to a unique arts scene and popular markets like Spitalfields, while the nightlife here in Hoxton and Shoreditch rivals that of the West End. Further east, Lee Valley Regional Park is London’s biggest open space.

West London
It is remarkable for its leafy squares, fascinating museums and vibrant street markets. Here you will find upmarket Kensington and Chelsea, the peaceful streets and canals of Maida Vale, Hammersmith, which is home to some great riverside pubs, and the multicultural communities of Shepherd’s Bush and Southall.